Audio Industry Briefing: Sennheiser MTW5 and ACCENTUM Clip, Bose QC 2nd Gen, Apos Electrostatics and TIDAL Pricing
Sennheiser adds replaceable-battery MTW5 earbuds, while LG expands xboom, Bose refreshes QuietComfort and TIDAL changes pricing.
Sennheiser has introduced two very different true-wireless designs: a flagship in-ear model with user-replaceable batteries and an open-ear clip model intended to preserve environmental awareness. LG has expanded its xboom range with three Power party speakers and the outdoor-focused Blast, Bose has shipped a second-generation QuietComfort headphone, and Apos has announced an electrostatic headphone with an unusually flexible matching amplifier. PlayStation has also put a firm price and release date on its first wireless desktop speakers. Elsewhere, TIDAL has applied new subscription pricing, and reports point to a compact Sonos soundbar and camera-equipped AirPods that remain unconfirmed by their manufacturers.
New Products
Sennheiser launches MOMENTUM True Wireless 5 and ACCENTUM Clip
Status: Officially confirmed
Brand: Sennheiser / Sonova Consumer Hearing
Products: MOMENTUM True Wireless 5; ACCENTUM Clip
Announcement: August 21, 2026
Availability: MTW5 preorders opened August 21, with shipping scheduled from September 3; ACCENTUM Clip is listed as available through Sennheiser and its retailers
Sennheiser’s MOMENTUM True Wireless 5 is a complete redesign built around the company’s 7 mm TrueResponse dynamic driver, Bluetooth 6.0 and aptX Adaptive/Lossless support. The earbuds add revised adaptive hybrid ANC, Dolby Atmos-optimized head tracking, an eight-band app EQ and a voice system combining microphones, bone-conduction sensors and AI speech extraction.
The most consequential change is serviceability: Sennheiser says owners can replace the batteries in both earbuds and the Qi charging case using a compact screwdriver. Rated playback rises to 12 hours per charge with ANC off and up to 40 hours with the case; the earbuds are IP54 rated. Regional pricing differs and was not stated in the Singapore launch release.
ACCENTUM Clip takes the opposite approach, using a 6.8 g open-ear clip design with a 12 mm dynamic driver, Bluetooth 6.0, LDAC, multipoint and IP54 protection. Sennheiser rates it for nine hours per charge and 36 hours with the case. Because it is acoustically open, it has neither ANC nor an electronic transparency mode.
Why it matters: User-replaceable batteries directly address one of the main lifespan limits of true-wireless earbuds, making MTW5 materially different from most premium rivals. ACCENTUM Clip is aimed at buyers who prioritize awareness and all-day comfort; shoppers should not mistake its open design for an ANC alternative. Both products still need independent tests for battery endurance, ANC, sound leakage, call quality and fit.
Sources: Sonova Consumer Hearing launch release · Sennheiser MOMENTUM True Wireless 5 product page · Sennheiser ACCENTUM Clip product page
Bose ships QuietComfort Headphones (2nd Gen) with USB-C audio
Status: Officially confirmed
Brand: Bose
Product: QuietComfort Headphones (2nd Gen)
Announcement: August 6, 2026
Shipping: From August 13, 2026
US price: $359
Bose’s second-generation QuietComfort adds TrueSpatial Technology with Still, Motion and Cinema Immersive Audio modes, plus wired USB-C playback up to 24-bit/48 kHz. The six-microphone QuietControl system is designed to maintain noise cancellation when glasses, hair or a hat compromise the earcup seal, while ActiveSense behavior in Aware Mode has also been revised.
Connectivity includes Bluetooth 5.4, multipoint, Google Fast Pair and two-way USB-C audio for both listening and microphone input. Bose rates battery life at up to 24 hours, or 18 hours with Immersive Audio, and says a 15-minute charge can provide up to 2.5 hours of playback.
Why it matters: This is more than a color refresh. USB-C audio, microphone support over USB and improved ANC under imperfect seals address practical reasons to choose the standard QuietComfort over lower-cost rivals. Buyers should note that Immersive Audio reduces the stated battery figure by six hours, and Bose’s performance claims still require independent testing.
Source: Bose press release — QuietComfort Headphones (2nd Gen)
Apos announces SJY ARGOS electrostatic headphones and HYDRA amplifier
Status: Officially announced; price and shipping date not stated in the release
Brands: Apos / SJY / ES Lab
Products: SJY ARGOS Electrostatic Headphones; Apos x ES Lab HYDRA Integrated Amplifier
Announcement: August 18, 2026
The SJY ARGOS uses a 6,375 mm² electrostatic driver with 580V Pro Bias. Apos describes its tuning as natural and slightly warm rather than strictly analytical, but that remains a manufacturer characterization until independent measurements and listening tests are available.
HYDRA is designed to power 580V electrostatic headphones, planar-magnetic and dynamic headphones, and passive speakers. Its Class AB section is rated at 20 watts per channel, while a four-pin XLR Direct output exposes the power-amplifier stage for difficult headphone loads.
Why it matters: Most electrostatic headphone amplifiers are single-purpose components. HYDRA’s multi-format design could reduce the number of amplifiers required in a mixed headphone and desktop-speaker system. Pricing, final retail availability, measured noise and compatibility with demanding loads were not supplied in the announcement, so value cannot yet be judged.
Source: Apos press release via PR Newswire
LG expands xboom with the Power Series and outdoor-focused Blast
Status: Officially confirmed; US pricing and final retail dates not stated
Brand: LG Electronics / xboom by will.i.am
Products: xboom Power 9000, Power 7000, Power 5000 and xboom Blast
Announcements: August 18 and August 11, 2026
LG’s new Power Series consists of three mains-powered party speakers aimed at different gathering sizes. All three combine xboom Signature Sound with AI Sound, Space Calibration Pro, Auracast, multicolor AI lighting, DJ effects and dual microphone inputs. LG is also promoting AI Karaoke Master, AI Vocal Remover and Key Changer as participatory features rather than conventional hi-fi functions.
The separate xboom Blast is a portable outdoor model with two 5.25-inch woofers, three passive radiators and Peerless tweeters. LG rates it for up to 36 hours of battery life and IP68 protection, and lists AI Sound, Space Calibration Pro and AI-controlled lighting. US pricing and availability were left for a later announcement.
Why it matters: LG is treating party audio as a structured product family rather than a single seasonal speaker. Buyers should distinguish the battery-powered, weather-resistant Blast from the higher-output Power models, which are intended for larger gatherings and karaoke use. Output claims, battery endurance, maximum sound pressure and the effectiveness of AI processing still need independent testing; the official announcements do not provide a complete comparison table or US prices.
Sources: LG xboom Power Series announcement · LG xboom Blast announcement
PlayStation confirms Pulse Elevate pricing and a November 12 launch
Status: Officially confirmed
Brand: Sony Interactive Entertainment / PlayStation
Product: Pulse Elevate wireless speakers
Announcement updated: August 18, 2026
Launch: Starting November 12, 2026
Sony Interactive Entertainment has confirmed that Pulse Elevate will launch starting November 12 at a recommended price of $219.99 / €219.99 / £199.99 / ¥37,980. Preorders open September 1 at 10 a.m. local time, or 10 a.m. ET in the United States. Midnight Black is due globally through PlayStation Direct and participating retailers; White availability is more limited and varies by market and retailer.
The compact rechargeable speakers use planar magnetic drivers and built-in woofers. The right speaker includes a microphone with AI-enhanced noise rejection. PlayStation Link provides low-latency wireless audio with compatible PS5, PC, Mac and PlayStation Portal devices, and Bluetooth can be used at the same time for a second source. Charging docks and a USB-C PlayStation Link adapter are included. Sony says PC audio-adjustment options will arrive after launch.
Why it matters: Pulse Elevate sits between conventional powered desktop monitors and gaming-focused wireless speakers. Buyers interested in headset-free voice chat, PlayStation Link latency and portable use now have enough price and availability information to compare it with established desktop systems. Its value will still depend on real-world battery life, measured output, bass extension and PC software support, none of which this launch update resolves.
Source: PlayStation Blog — official announcement and August 18 update
Report points to a Sonos S56 compact soundbar
Unverified / Pending verification: Sonos has not announced a product named S56 or Gambit. The model identity, retail name, specifications, price and exact launch date remain unconfirmed.
Status: Media-reported; regulatory filing cited by the report
Brand: Sonos
Reported model: S56, reportedly codenamed “Gambit”
Report published: August 19, 2026
What Hi-Fi reports, citing Bloomberg and an FCC filing, that Sonos is preparing a compact soundbar identified as S56 and codenamed Gambit. The report says its dimensions are similar to the second-generation Beam, which makes a Beam-class replacement plausible, but it does not establish an official retail name. Sonos had already indicated that a new product would arrive in September, without identifying it.
Claims about Dolby Atmos, voice features, AI functions, up-firing drivers or HDMI passthrough should be treated as speculation until Sonos publishes a product page or launch materials.
Why it matters: Anyone considering a Beam (Gen 2) should know that a successor-sized product may be close, but there is not yet enough verified information to delay a purchase solely for a specific feature or price. The FCC-linked report strengthens the hardware signal; it does not confirm the feature list.
Sources: What Hi-Fi — S56/Gambit report · What Hi-Fi — Sonos September product comments
Camera-equipped AirPods appear in a macOS video report
Unverified / Pending verification: Apple has not announced camera-equipped AirPods. Product naming, sensors, privacy behavior, audio changes, price and launch timing are not confirmed.
Status: Media-reported software-build discovery
Brand: Apple
Product: Unannounced AirPods concept shown in a reported macOS asset
Report published: August 18, 2026
What Hi-Fi, following a report from 9to5Mac, says a video asset discovered in the macOS Tahoe 26.7 release-candidate build shows AirPods being used with a “Visual Intelligence” function. In the video, a user asks Siri to save visual information for later. The report describes earbuds with thicker stems than AirPods Pro 3, but it does not show or independently establish the camera hardware.
A launch alongside the next iPhone has been rumored, but Apple has not confirmed that schedule or said whether the product would include any audio upgrades.
Why it matters: If released, the product would make camera and privacy behavior part of an earbud buying decision, not just sound quality, fit and battery life. Until Apple explains capture indicators, processing location, data retention and user controls, the privacy implications are unknown rather than inherently positive or negative.
Source: What Hi-Fi — reported macOS video discovery
Shows & Events
Sound & Light Asia 2026 opens in Greater Noida
Status: Officially confirmed
Event: Sound & Light Asia 2026
Dates: August 19–22, 2026
Venue: India Expo Mart, Greater Noida, India
Sound & Light Asia is underway as a business-to-business exhibition for professional audio, lighting, AV, music-production and entertainment technology. The organizer’s exhibitor scope includes stage sound, monitoring and PA systems, line arrays, audio networking, microphones, DJ equipment, conferencing, system integration and wireless AV.
Why it matters: This is primarily a supplier, integrator, rental and professional-buyer event rather than a consumer hi-fi show. For distributors and installation buyers, it provides a concentrated view of products and partners serving India’s expanding event and AV-integration markets.
Source: Sound & Light Asia — official event website
Brand & Industry
TIDAL applies updated subscription pricing
Status: Officially confirmed
Platform: TIDAL
Support notice updated: August 2, 2026
Effective date: First billing date on or after August 3, 2026
TIDAL says updated subscription pricing now applies on the first billing date on or after August 3. The company directs users to its live pricing page rather than publishing one global figure because prices, currencies and billing channels vary. Apple, Google and telecommunications-partner subscriptions may follow separate pricing and notification rules.
Why it matters: Existing subscribers should compare the price shown in their account or billing-platform notice rather than relying on an article quoted in another currency or market. Buyers comparing TIDAL with Qobuz, Spotify or Apple Music should use the price available through their actual billing channel.
Source: TIDAL Support — Subscription Price Update
Firmware & Platforms
HEOS U40 fixes several Qobuz, TuneIn, volume and HDMI problems
Status: Officially confirmed; covered separately
Firmware: 3.139.173 for core AVR/core Hi-Fi devices; 3.139.170 for other documented devices
HEOS app: 3.139.250
Denon’s U40 release fixes Qobuz Connect interruption and connection failures, repeating TuneIn segments, fixed power-on-volume behavior, Quick Select/Spotify recall, an HDMI refresh-rate pop and several two-channel bass-management issues. To avoid duplicating the firmware article, the full model-scope and risk notes are maintained in our dedicated report and Firmware Tracker.
SoundPath Lab coverage: Denon and Marantz HEOS U40 update · Firmware & App Update Tracker
Sonos app 88 restores iOS system-level controls through Live Activity
Status: Officially confirmed; handled in the tracker
App versions: 88.00.51 for iOS; 88.00.43 for Android
Release date: August 11, 2026
Sonos app version 88 lets iOS users enable a Live Activity that restores playback controls on the Lock Screen and Dynamic Island. It also optimizes the iPad Now Playing controls and improves the settings experience when players are offline. Sonos says features may roll out over several days or weeks.
This release is being recorded in the SoundPath Lab Firmware & App Update Tracker rather than expanded into a duplicate article. Sonos does not describe it as a general connectivity fix, and the notes do not justify changing the status of a specific Product Issues record.
Source: Sonos Support — official app release notes
Verification notes
- Officially confirmed: Sennheiser MOMENTUM True Wireless 5 and ACCENTUM Clip specifications and stated availability; Bose QuietComfort Headphones (2nd Gen) specifications, US price and shipping date; ARGOS and HYDRA product architecture as stated by Apos; LG xboom Power/Blast product positioning and published features; Pulse Elevate price, launch date, core published features and market-dependent availability; TIDAL’s pricing-change timing; Sound & Light Asia dates and venue; HEOS and Sonos app versions and listed changes.
- Unverified / Pending verification: Sonos S56/Gambit identity and all unannounced specifications; camera-equipped AirPods hardware, launch timing and product behavior.
- Still unknown: Global Sennheiser pricing and independent MTW5/ACCENTUM Clip performance; ARGOS and HYDRA pricing, shipping date and independent performance; Bose’s real-world ANC and battery performance.
- We have not converted rumor, inference or marketing language into specifications. No Product Issues status was changed by the items in this briefing.
Related SoundPath Lab coverage
- Firmware & App Update Tracker
- Denon and Marantz HEOS U40 Update
- Audio Industry Briefing — August 17, 2026
Disclosure
This briefing contains no purchasing links. SoundPath Lab has no disclosed commercial relationship with the companies or event covered here. The feature image is a brand-neutral editorial illustration and does not depict the reported Sonos or Apple products.
Revision log
- August 23, 2026: Added LG's officially announced xboom Power 9000/7000/5000 and xboom Blast. US pricing and final retail timing remain unstated. The draft remains unpublished.
- August 22, 2026: Added Sennheiser MOMENTUM True Wireless 5 and ACCENTUM Clip from the August 21 official launch, then updated the title, excerpt, SEO metadata and verification notes. The draft remains unpublished.
- August 21, 2026: Updated the unpublished draft with Bose QuietComfort Headphones (2nd Gen), Apos ARGOS/HYDRA, TIDAL subscription pricing and a cross-linked HEOS U40 summary. Retitled and redated the briefing to prevent a duplicate post.
- August 20, 2026: Initial publication draft. Verification labels and scope limitations added for the Sonos and AirPods reports.
Continue the research
Move from this article to a verified product decision
Use descriptive links to move between product records, brand evidence, comparisons, setup or issue guidance, and compatible-system tools. Inclusion reflects subject relevance, not a score or endorsement; product facts, recommendation eligibility, and commercial links remain separate.
Product page
Verify the exact model
Brand center
Check the wider platform
Related comparison
Compare the system role
Setup, firmware & problems
Check behavior before buying
System Builder & compatibility