HIFIMAN HE600 — Decision Profile

Evidence Profile · L2 · documentation + editorial inference

HIFIMAN HE600

HIFIMAN HE600: Open planar listening with the exact HE600 hardware, not the older HE6 family.

Evidence checked / updated: 2026-10-12. Manufacturer claims and editorial system-fit assessment. No SoundPath Lab listening or measurement test.

Verified documentation

  • Design: Open-back planar magnetic; detachable earcup cabling
  • Driver: Planar magnetic; manufacturer engineering descriptions are not independent measurements
  • Impedance: 28 Ω
  • Sensitivity: 94 dB; sensitivity reference power/voltage not stated
  • Frequency response: 8 Hz–65 kHz; manufacturer bandwidth, tolerance not stated
  • Weight: 389 g; manufacturer specification
  • Connection: 1.5 m 3.5 mm cable + 6.35 mm adapter

Best for

Open planar listening with the exact HE600 hardware, not the older HE6 family.

Avoid if

Not isolation/ANC headphones, wireless playback or proof that every phone drives the unit adequately.

Limits and unknowns

Open designs leak sound; closed designs offer passive isolation only. No ANC, wireless audio or microphone is implied. Fit, pad wear and drive headroom require individual checking.

Current verdict

Open planar listening with the exact HE600 hardware, not the older HE6 family.

Why it fits

Use a headphone output and the specified cable/adapter, not a speaker-amplifier terminal. Impedance alone does not establish sufficient loudness; check sensitivity conditions and source clipping. 1.5 m 3.5 mm cable + 6.35 mm adapter

What it can replace

Can fill this role, subject to the stated conditions: Open planar listening with the exact HE600 hardware, not the older HE6 family.

What it cannot replace

Not isolation/ANC headphones, wireless playback or proof that every phone drives the unit adequately.

What SoundPath Lab tested

SoundPath Lab reviewed the listed exact-model primary documents and source discrepancies. No device was independently auditioned, measured, stress-tested or firmware-retested.

What remains untested

Actual sonic balance, distortion/output under load, room/ear fit, latency, long-term reliability and host-specific behaviour remain untested. Open designs leak sound; closed designs offer passive isolation only. No ANC, wireless audio or microphone is implied. Fit, pad wear and drive headroom require individual checking.

System conditions

Use a headphone output and the specified cable/adapter, not a speaker-amplifier terminal. Impedance alone does not establish sufficient loudness; check sensitivity conditions and source clipping. 1.5 m 3.5 mm cable + 6.35 mm adapter

Alternatives by need

Compare SUNDARA by impedance, cable, fit and local cost; no untested tonal superiority or universal source-drive claim.

Keep or upgrade

Keep a working system that already meets this use case. Upgrade only if the documented feature or connection solves the specific limitation: Open designs leak sound; closed designs offer passive isolation only. No ANC, wireless audio or microphone is implied. Fit, pad wear and drive headroom require individual checking.

When to reassess

Reassess on a verified hardware/document revision, material support or compatibility change, unresolved-source clarification, or accepted independent test. No arbitrary calendar delay or lifetime guarantee.

Ownership evidence

No new six-month ownership evidence was added; existing owner and issue records remain unchanged.

Firmware, manual and support

Passive analogue audio path; no user firmware or companion application is required for the documented audio connection. Use the exact model and revision when ordering replacement parts. Current local stock, authorized sales, launch/shipping dates and transaction price are not established by this documentation review. Existing dated price evidence remains historical. Warranty territory, exclusions, battery/consumable terms, repair availability and long-term support must be checked with the applicable official policy; no universal support end date is inferred.

Current local stock, authorized sales, launch/shipping dates and transaction price are not established by this documentation review. Existing dated price evidence remains historical. Warranty territory, exclusions, battery/consumable terms, repair availability and long-term support must be checked with the applicable official policy; no universal support end date is inferred.

Official model manual

Primary sources

Revision record

2026-10-12 — Promoted from L1 to L2 after model-level evidence review. Stable product identity retained; source conflicts and untested behavior remain visible. L2 is evidence coverage, not independent test acceptance or automatic recommendation.

Member knowledge · editor reviewed

Questions, owner experience and product issues

Join the live member discussion below, or submit structured experience and issue reports for editorial review.

Loading reviewed community records…

Reviewed Q&A

Question center

Owner experience

Submit yours

Product issues

Report issue